Pumpkin Waffles & Watermelon Smoothie.

Double the Dose!

 

It has been a very busy year for my family. I just started a new teaching job as a literarcy teacher for K-3rd graders, and believe me when I tell you, they are so precious but they do have thier moments, if you know what I mean! On top of that, we have other events outside of work that we in charge of and we also have workshops that we are required to attend. So with that said, it’s been a busy year already. Since I have been away from you guys for so long, I will be bringing to you to recipes.

I am currently working on getting over the nasty stomach flu (I’ve never had it before!) and since I was loosing all of my insides and my precious nutrients I came across this recipe that I thought was great.

Not only was it fast to make, it tasted great too!

Ingredients:

1 cup(s) watermelon chunks, frozen

1/2 cup(s) coconut water

1 1/2 teaspoon(s) lime juice, from 1/2 a lime

4 mint leaves

4 ice cubes

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a blender. Process until smooth. Serve immediately. Enjoy!

Pumpkin Waffles

Who could pass up Waffles, especially these kind of waffles.

I am not a big breakfast eater but I will definately not pass up waffles. Especially tasty ones such as this!

Ingredients

Waffles:

1/2 cup(s) all-purpose flour

1/2 cup(s) whole wheat flour

1/2 cup(s) wheat germ

1 tablespoon(s) baking powder

1 teaspoon(s) coarse salt

1/4 teaspoon(s) ground nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon(s) ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon(s) ground ginger

5 tablespoon(s) brown sugar

3/4 cup(s) pumpkin puree

5 tablespoon(s)   (1/2 stick plus 1 tablespoon)  unsalted butter, melted

2 eggs

1 teaspoon(s) vanilla extract

1 cup(s) milk

For Serving:

Plain Greek-style yogurt

Maple syrup

Chopped nuts

Fruit

Directions

Heat waffle iron. In a small bowl, mix flours, wheat germ, baking powder, salt, nutmeg, cinnamon, and ginger. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together brown sugar, pumpkin puree, butter, eggs, vanilla, and 1/2 cup milk until well combined. Stir in dry ingredients and mix to form a smooth batter. Slowly add remaining 1/2 cup milk until batter is thin enough to pour into waffle iron.

Spoon about 1/2 cup batter into iron and cook according to iron instructions.

Serve with yogurt, syrup, nuts, and fruit.

Enjoy!

Courtesy of delish.com

 

Leave a comment